This article is a summary of the fleets within the Royal Navy and the Royal Navy Fleet Training required.

The Surface Fleet consists of Aircraft carriers, assault ships, destroyers, and frigates. These ships are used for roles varying from combat missions to humanitarian aid.

The Submarine Service is responsible for highly classified, stealth operations. The four Vanguard Class submarines carry the nuclear deterrent Trident II D5 ballistic missiles. Dreadnought Class submarines will be Britain’s next generation of nuclear deterrent under the Successor programme and are expected to enter service in the 2030s. Dreadnought Class submarines will be the largest submarines ever operated by the Royal Navy.

Royal Fleet Auxiliary are a fleet of civilian ships that provide global logistics support to the Naval Service

The Fleet Air Arm (FAA) consists of fighter jets and helicopters and is the aviation branch of the Royal Navy, delivering airpower in support of operations and operates all the Royal Navy’s aircraft.

The Surface Fleet

With a truly global impact, the Surface Fleet protects our nation’s interests, all over the world

From destroyers and frigates to minesweepers and aircraft carriers

Each vessel serves a specific purpose and has a specialist crew, from the 280m HMS Queen Elizabeth down to the 15m LCVP MK5 amphibious assault landing craft

Surface Fleet requires people from all the Royal Navy branches have their role to play from the Warfare branch to the Medical branch.

The Submarine Service

The Royal Navy has submarines deployed all over the world tracking aircraft, monitoring ships and supporting our fleet from below the surface. The Attack Submarines provide covert surveillance the while Vanguard-class vessels carry the ballistic missile that are the UK’s nuclear deterrent.

Submariners are some of the Royal Navy’s most exceptional personnel. The personnel on a submarine do not need to know only their job but also need to know how the boat works, from its sonar to propulsion systems.

As you are under water 3 months at a time all levels from junior rating to the Commanding Officer must get on together and work as part of one team. We live, work and socialise together.

The Royal Fleet Auxiliary (RFA)

The Royal Fleet Auxiliary is a Merchant Navy organisation that consists of civilian-crewed ships operated by the Ministry of Defence.

The Fleet Auxiliary provides vital logistical and operational support to the Royal Navy and Royal Marines. They provide medical care, transport kit, fuel, and other items all over the world.

The RFA also provides humanitarian aid, makes counter piracy patrols, and counter narcotic operations as well as safeguarding the flow of international trade.

The RFA is respected over and above many merchant navy positions and are supported with structured career development and world-class training

The Fleet Air Arm

The Fleet Air Arm provides the state-of-the-art technology the Aviation branch of the Royal Navy needs to deliver airborne support. FAA roles range from humanitarian operations, through to securing sea territory, fighting terrorism and landing troops on hostile shores.

The Royal Navy has a range of aircraft that are at the leading edge of aviation from the Wildcat and Merlin Mk3 helicopters to the F35 Joint Strike Fighter, which is capable of performing multiple roles, from ground attack to air superiority.

When you are in the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm you could be based at a Royal Naval Air Station or somewhere in the world on deployment.

Royal Navy Fleet Training

Before joining one of the Royal Navy fleets you must complete your Royal Navy basic training which under normal circumstances takes place at HMS Raleigh.

Supply Drop gives you the opportunity to purchase all you  Royal Navy fleet training kit before you start Royal Navy basic training at heavily discounted prices.